Tapping into my Swiss heritage

20130112-112643.jpg

20130112-112700.jpgOkay I might not be Swiss but I do like some of their food creations. Besides chocolate, I like their hearty cereal. The cereal is called Muesli.

Muesli (pron.: /ˈmjuːzli/ or /ˈmuːzli/; Swiss German: Müesli [ˈmyəsli], Standard German: Müsli) is a popular breakfast meal based on uncooked rolled oats, fruit and nuts. It was developed around 1900 by Swiss physician Maximilian Bircher-Benner for patients in his hospital. It is available in a packaged dry form, ready made, or it can be made fresh.

You can learn more about Muesli on this awesome wikipedia page:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muesli

So if you want to get your hands on some delicious Muesli you have to either find it at your local co-op or health food section of the grocery store. Unfortunately that one pound bag of Muesli by Bob’s Red Mill is going to set you back $4-6$ depending on the area you live in. So you might be okay with the cost but then you have to think about the combination of ingredients in the muesli cereal. I happy that Bob’s Red Mill makes healthy grains and flours with an employee owned business model. If you go to their website they will tell you all about it. I just don’t care for some of the ingredients in their version. I don’t care for date crumbles and I freak in hate raisins (long story short it looks like rabbit feces) and what the bleep is triticale? Plus the package of their version is bland and rough to eat. I felt like cow eating grass. A whole lot of chewing.

So as usual I decided that I wanted to make my own version.

1 cup Old Fashion Oats
1 cup quick oats
2 cups bran flakes
1 cup coconut flakes
1/2-1 cup of flax seed
1 cup dried berries
1 cup barley oats
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup almond slivers
optional carob chips, pepita (Pumpkin Seeds), and cinnamon

Shake it up in a ziploc bag and you have your own muesli.  I like to eat my muesli with homemade yogurt or milk.  I haven’t tried eating it with fruit juice.

The Muesli is a great source of fiber, protein, iron, calcium, and low sodium. Less sugar than most other cereals.

Either way its a nice healthy breakfast than some cereal called sugar frosted sugary nuggets.

20130112-112711.jpg

Leave a Reply

