“Leftovers make you …

“Leftovers make you feel good twice. First, when you put it away, you feel thrifty and intelligent: ‘I’m saving food!’ Then a month later when blue hair is growing out of the ham, and you throw it away, you feel really intelligent: ‘I’m saving my life!’”

– George Carlin, comedian

The hardest part about cooking for one is the fact that you have leftovers. For some people this is a good thing but for me I dislike leftovers. I like variety and I have a hard time eating the same thing. However, this week I am trying to be more sustainable by not having too much waste. I gave myself a leftover challenge. So last Friday I made a delicious Corn Beef, cabbage and red potatoes. I ate that on Friday and Saturday and then I was like nope can’t do it but I couldn’t just let it go to waste so this week I made a corn beef sandwich on miche bread. A awesome sandwich with corn beef and sauteed onions, peppers on a rustic wheat bread. Thanks to Madison Sour Dough for the delicious miche bread. The next day I made my version of corn beef hash. My version is less mushy like the can version. I chopped up some leftover corn beef hash and the red potatoes. Sauteed all of the chopped up red potatoes and corn beef with peppers and onion and had that with some leftover toasted buttered miche bread. Delicious! Which gave me the next idea of making homemade butter because whipped homemade butter taste best with a rustic wheat bread such as miche. Now I have about 3 ounces of corn beef left any ideas on what I should make next that I will love to eat?

Leave a Reply

