Pho Sure

The latest craze of asian cuisine is Pho. Pho is a noodle dish with fresh ingredients in a flavorful broth. I didn’t understand the craze for this dish until I tried it. Disclaimer: I hate chicken noodle soup with a passion. I dislike broth soups. However, I like Pho. I don’t know if it is the time it takes to flavor the broth that makes a difference or the fresh ingredients added to the finished product. Yeah I am expanding my food horizons. The dish is rather simple but the main ingredient that makes Pho delicious is the broth. The authentic way to make Pho is to start with chicken parts or beef parts. Boil the beef or chicken parts down with water. Use a slotted spoon to skim off the meat foam that rest on top. Then strain the broth for bones and meat pieces. To add flavor to the broth I take onion and garlic and roast them or slightly blacken them. Then I chop them and add them to the broth. I take my dry seasoning and heat them up before adding them to the broth. Heating dry spices activates the flavor. Any who the first attempt at Pho came out delicious. I did however cheat. I started with can chicken broth instead of broth from scratch. I will try the broth from scratch next time. Pho appetite!

Leave a Reply

